Board of Trustees

The Board of Trustees of Max Planck Florida Institute for Neuroscience is a group of dedicated professionals representing a variety of backgrounds and expertise. The Board actively participates in the guidance of the Institute towards fulfilling its mission while maintaining the highest standards of accountability.

As a public not-for-profit institution, the Institute takes seriously its responsibilities to maintain public trust and to integrate sound business practices into its daily operations. The Board reviews the Institute’s activities and progress towards its fundamental goal of conducting basic research to stimulate novel approaches in understanding the structure, function and development of neural circuits.


Dr. David C. Auth, PE, NAE
Affiliate Professor of Bioengineering, University of Washington

Mr. Alexander W. Dreyfoos
Chairman, The Dreyfoos Group

Mr. George T. Elmore
President, Hardrives, Inc.

Dr. David Fitzpatrick
Scientific Director and CEO
Max Planck Florida Institute for Neuroscience

Hon. Louis J. Freeh
Chairman, Freeh Group International Solutions, LLC
Founder & Senior Managing Partner, Freeh Sporkin & Sullivan, LLP

Dr. Jean-Pierre Garnier
Chairman, Actelion Ltd.
Operating Partner at Advent International

Professor Dr. Bill Hansson – Chairman
Vice-President, Max Planck Society for the Advancement of Science

Mr. Nasser J. Kazeminy
Chairman, NJK Holding Corporation

Ms. Becky Mayer
Former member of acquisitions, Tate Modern, Council of the Serpentine Gallery,
and Co-leader of the Good Life Seminars for personal advancement.

Hon. Bonnie McElveen-Hunter
CEO & Owner, Pace Communications
Chairman, American Red Cross

Mr. James R. Mellor
Chairman, USEC Inc.
Retired Chairman & Chief Executive Officer,
General Dynamics Corporation

Mr. Bernard J. Poussot
Retired Chairman, CEO & President, Wyeth

Mr. Markus Schleier, Esq.
Head of Department,
Legal and Structural Development,
Max Planck Society for the Advancement of Science

Mr. John Sculley
Chairman of Board, RxAdvance

Dr. James Weinstein
Immediate past CEO and President, Dartmouth-Hitchcock Health
Peggy Y. Thomson Chair, Evaluative Clinical Sciences,
Geisel School of Medicine

Professor Dr. Peter Gruss – Chairman Emeritus
President, Max Planck Society for the Advancement
of Science (2002-2014)